Watch the lunar occultation of Uranus on Sept. 14 | Live Science


Depending on where in the world you’ll be Wednesday night (Sept. 14), you may be able to see Uranus disappear. (Don’t worry; it’ll be back again a few hours later.)

On Wednesday, the sixth planet from the sun will appear to pass directly behind Earth’s moon, going completely out of sight for three and a half hours. The great disappearing act, also known as the lunar occultation of Uranus, begins around 4:41 p.m. ET (2041 GMT) and ends by 8:11 p.m. ET (0011 GMT on Sept. 15), according to In-the-sky.org. However, only viewers in Europe, northern Africa and western Asia will be at the exact right angle to see the illusion work.

Read More

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s